September 19, 2023
When someone commits a crime and is found guilty, they may expect certain consequences to stem from that, such as jail time or fines. However, some penalties associated with crimes can stick around for years after all jail time has been served, especially when it comes to convictions for sex crimes.
Those convicted of certain sex crimes in Colorado must register as sex offenders. Most of those offenders are required to register their updated information at least once per year, but some may need to do as frequently as every three months. The sex offender registry is open to the public and can limit the places an offender can work or even live.
Here are the crimes that can require you to register with the sex offender registry in Colorado.
What Crimes Require Registration As a Sex Offender?
In Colorado, anyone convicted of these crimes, or even attempting them, is required to register as a sex offender:
- Sexual assault
- Pandering of a child
- Unlawful sexual contact
- Soliciting for child prostitution
- Sexual assault on a child
- Indecent exposure
- Sexual assault on a child by someone in a position of trust
- Procurement of a child for sexual exploitation
- Enticement of a child
- Sexual exploitation of children
- Incest or aggravated incest
- Keeping a place of child prostitution
- Trafficking in children
- Second-degree kidnapping
- Pimping of a child
- Invasion of privacy for sexual gratification
- Patronizing a prostituted child
- Internet sexual exploitation of a child
- Promotion of obscenity to a minor
- Internet luring a child
It’s also crucial to note that if someone is convicted of these crimes in another state and then moves to Colorado, they must continue to register as a sex offender in the state of Colorado as well.
What Is the Sex Offender Registry?
The sex offender registry in Colorado is a service for the safety of the public that notifies them of convicted sex offenders living in their community. They can complete a public search for this information.
Law enforcement also uses the registry to keep track of offenders that live in their jurisdictions. The police will be notified if there is a failure to register on the part of the offender – or if they re-register in another place.
The sex offender registry also denotes whether or not a person is considered a sexually violent predator. That means they have been labeled by the state of Colorado as someone who is high-risk and likely to re-offend.
What Information Do Offenders Provide?
The sex offender registry requires offenders to supply personal information such as their name, birthday, photograph, address, place of employment, and a full set of fingerprints. You must also tell the authorities any chat room or online identities you have and your registration status.
The public will see your name, birthday, address, and photo as well as what type of car you drive and your physical description. If you are a sexually violent predator, that information is available too.
How Long Must You Register?
Some Colorado crimes, such as sexual assault on a child or felony sexual assault, will require you to register as a sex offender for life. Other crimes may require you to register for a certain amount of time.
For example, a conviction of a Class 1 felony requires you to register for 20 years, but a Class 1 misdemeanor only requires you to register for 10 years.
About the Author:
Denver-based criminal defense and DUI attorney Jacob E. Martinez is a knowledgeable and experienced litigator with a record of success providing innovative solutions to clients facing criminal charges of any severity. Mr. Martinez has been recognized by countless legal organizations for his exemplary defense work, including Avvo, Best DWI Attorneys, Expertise, Lawyers of Distinction, The National Trial Lawyers, and others. He was also named one of the 10 Best in Client Satisfaction in Colorado by the American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys for 2020, and is Lead Counsel rated