Reasons You Want to Avoid a CO DUI
Posted By: Jacob Martinez
While the state of Colorado has relaxed some of its laws against the use of substances like marijuana, it’s still a very serious offense to be accused of operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the state.
Many people assume they know what happens when a person is arrested for a DUI. However, the cold truth of the matter is that most are surprised by what follows an arrest. The chain of events that happen after a DUI are pretty good reasons to avoid getting one in the first place.
If you need inspiration to help you avoid operating a vehicle while under the influence, then here is what you need to know.
What Is a DUI in Colorado?
A DUI in Colorado is defined as operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. In some cases, blood alcohol levels can be below that threshold and still count as a DUI, as long as you exhibit signs of intoxication and are considered incapable to safely operating a vehicle.
Additionally, if you are pulled over under the suspicion of a DUI by the police and refuse a chemical test, then you can still be charged with a DUI. For a first offense, you can spend up to one year behind bars and be required to complete two years of probation. You may also have to pay up to $1,000 in fines and complete up to 96 hours of community service.
Top Reasons to Avoid a DUI in Colorado
The next time you are out with friends or family, and you find yourself questioning whether you should drive if you’re under the influence of something that impairs you, then consider these reasons to avoid a DUI:
You’ll Be in Jail Overnight
Those who are arrested for a DUI in the state are probably going to have to spend the night in jail – which is an experience that should be avoided if possible. Even if you think you can beat the charges later, that’s a lonely, uncomfortable night you’re never going to get back. On top of that, you could spend many nights in jail if ultimately convicted of the DUI.
You Can Lose Your License
Even before your DUI hearing, you may lose your ability to drive in the state. That’s because, under the implied consent law, refusal of a chemical test means that your license is automatically suspended for one year – and up to three years if this isn’t the first time you’ve refused. Your attorney can help you to maybe get your license back eventually. However, even in that circumstance, there will be a period where you will not be able to legally operate a vehicle – and that can put a big damper on your life and livelihood.
DUIs are Costly
When you get a DUI, you may have to pay a fee for your car to be towed and impounded. You may miss work. And you’ll have to pay for an attorney to represent you.
On top of all that, you’ll also have to pay court costs and fines associated with the DUI, plus reinstallment fees to get your driver’s license back. DUIs are expensive endeavors, so avoiding them in the first place will be good for your bank account.
A DUI is definitely something that will impact your life now and in the future, so make good choices when it comes to using substances and driving. If you can avoid a DUI, that’s always the best thing to do.
About the Author:
Denver-based criminal defense and DUI attorney Jacob E. Martinez is a knowledgeable and experienced litigator with a record of success providing innovative solutions to clients facing criminal charges of any severity. Mr. Martinez has been recognized by countless legal organizations for his exemplary defense work, including Avvo, Best DWI Attorneys, Expertise, Lawyers of Distinction, The National Trial Lawyers, and others. He was also named one of the 10 Best in Client Satisfaction in Colorado by the American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys for 2020, and is Lead Counsel rated.