Colorado Sees Spike in Gun Sales During Coronavirus
Posted By: Jacob Martinez
People around the country are unsure of what to expect from the coronavirus situation. In many parts of the country, panic has set in and led to hoarding supplies.
It isn’t just toilet paper and canned food that people are stocking up on, however. In the state of Colorado, ammunition and firearms have been flying off the shelves.
Despite the extraordinary circumstances, police departments around the state want to remind everyone that the laws surrounding firearms are still in effect.
Gun Laws in Colorado
The laws surrounding firearms possession in Colorado are numerous. Many of these laws deal with the finer nuances such as the types of firearms that are legal and record-keeping for gun stores. Most of this is outside the scope of what the average gun owner needs to know.
What is important for you to understand as a gun owner are the minimum requirements: who can legally possess a firearm and where you can carry.
Who Can Legally Possess a Firearm in Colorado
These are the basic requirements for concealed carry in the state of Colorado:
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Display competence with a handgun
- Be a legal resident of Colorado
- Never been convicted of perjury
- Is not an alcoholic
- Not a user of illegal substances
- Not subject to a protection order
- In compliance with all federal gun laws
Where in Colorado You Can Carry a Gun
Aside from the basic requirements, there are also many important laws dictating where guns can be carried and where they cannot. Generally speaking, those areas of official business and/or large crowds of people are considered “off-limits.”
Places you may carry guns in Colorado:
- State parks
- Roadside rest areas
- All other areas of the state not listed as “off-limits”
Colorado places marked as “off-limits” for carrying firearms:
- Public grade schools
- Secure areas of airports
- Public buildings with security checkpoints (courthouses, jails, etc.)
- Snowmobiles (permit required for hunting)
- Any place prohibited by federal law
Violating Gun Laws in Colorado
Gun laws around the state of Colorado are strictly enforced at both the state and federal levels. Violating these laws can lead to some serious penalties including lengthy prison time on top of hefty fines.
One of the most common of these crimes is the unlawful possession of a firearm. Colorado legal resources describe unlawful possession as committing a class 2 misdemeanor when knowingly and unlawfully:
- Carrying a knife concealed on or about his or her person
- Carrying a firearm concealed on or about his or her person
- Without legal authority, carrying, bringing or has in such person’s possession a firearm or any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of official government business
The punishment for a class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado is jail time between 3 months and a year and/or a fine of between $250 and $1,000.
Just because the coronavirus has thrown the country into a state of panic, doesn’t mean you can ignore gun laws. Because of the surge in gun sales, police departments throughout the state of Colorado will be on heightened alert.
It is imperative you remain in compliance with all state and federal laws. In the event you find yourself afoul of the law, however, contact an experienced Colorado gun attorney who can help you navigate the legal process.
About the Author:
Denver-based criminal defense and DUI attorney Jacob E. Martinez is a knowledgeable and experienced litigator with a record of success providing innovative solutions to clients facing criminal charges of any severity. Mr. Martinez has been designated a Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers and has been awarded both the Avvo Client’s Choice Award and Avvo Top Attorney designation, evidencing his reputation for his exemplary criminal and DUI defense work and high moral standards.