4 Ways Marijuana Users Can Face Drug Charges in Colorado

Posted By: Jacob Martinez

Category: Drug Crimes | Marijuana

4 Ways Marijuana Users Can Face Drug Charges in ColoradoIf you’re a marijuana user, you’re probably pretty happy to be living in Colorado. It’s easy for you to make a trip to your local dispensary and enjoy a relaxing night. But just because recreational marijuana is legal, that doesn’t mean everything regarding marijuana is legal in our state.

There are still numerous ways that marijuana users can face drug crime charges for possession, sale, distribution, and cultivation of marijuana. So let’s look at four of those ways.

1. It’s illegal to possess more than one ounce of marijuana. Under Colorado law, it’s illegal to possess more than one ounce of marijuana. But there are different levels of possession and penalties. The more marijuana you have, the higher the penalty. For example, if you possess up to 2 ounces, you’ll only be charged with a petty offense, which has a $100 fine. Over two ounces, though, and you’re looking at more severe penalties.

  • Between 2 and 6 ounces is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $700 and up to 12 months in jail.
  • Between 6 and 12 ounces is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $5,000 and 6 to 18 months in jail.
  • More than 12 ounces of marijuana is a felony punishable by a fine up to $100,000 and 1 to 2 years in jail.

2. Unless you are a licensed and regulated dispensary, it is illegal to sell marijuana. In Colorado, the dispensaries are the only legal entities in the marijuana business. So if you’re caught selling marijuana, you can be arrested and charged with a marijuana crime. Here are a few of those marijuana sale penalties:

  • Selling 4 ounces or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $5,000 and 6 to 18 months in jail.
  • Between 4 and 12 ounces is a felony punishable by a fine up to $100,000 and 6 months to 2 years in jail.
  • Between 12 ounces and 5 pounds is a felony punishable by a fine up to $500,000 and 2 to 6 years in jail.

Marijuana Cultivation Defense Lawyer Denver3. It’s illegal to grow more than six of your own marijuana plants. The legalization of marijuana has made it easy to grow your own plants. However, you are only allowed to grow six of your own plants, with no more than three of those plants being mature. If you are caught growing more than six plants, you will be charged with a felony offense.

  • Between 6 and 30 plants is a felony punishable by a fine up to $100,000 and 6 months to 2 years in jail.
  • More than 30 plants is punishable by a fine up to $500,000 and 2 to 6 years in jail.

4. It is illegal to possess more than one ounce of hash or marijuana concentrates. Hash and marijuana concentrates follow similar rules to marijuana itself. You are allowed to have up to one ounce for personal use, but anything over that has criminal penalties.

  • Between 1 and 3 ounces is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $5,000 and 6 to 18 months in jail.
  • More than 3 ounces is a felony punishable by a fine up to $100,000 and 6 months to 2 years in jail.

So even though you’re allowed to legally use and possess marijuana, there are restrictions and limits to the amount of marijuana you’re allowed to have. If you’ve been charged with a marijuana offense, contact an experienced Colorado drug lawyer who will help you fight your charges and protect your rights.

 

About the Author:

Denver-based criminal defense and DUI attorney Jacob E. Martinez is a knowledgeable and experienced litigator with a record of success providing innovative solutions to clients facing criminal charges of any severity. Mr. Martinez has been designated a Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers and has been awarded both the Avvo Client’s Choice Award and Avvo Top Attorney designation, evidencing his reputation for his exemplary criminal and DUI defense work and high moral standards.