CO Legislators Want to Pump the Breaks on High THC Concentrates
Posted By: Jacob Martinez
In Colorado, recreational use of marijuana is legal. However, some lawmakers are concerned about the amount of concentrates that recreational users can purchase at one time. They’re worried that the use of concentrates in vapes or dab rigs is a danger for teens.
Concentrates have risen in popularity over the last several years, according to the Denver Post. Because of this, state lawmakers are looking to introduce legislation that tightens reins on the marijuana industry in the state.
Potential measures include a potency cap for THC products and requiring in-person visits to the doctor for medical cards acquisition.
This seeks to address how teens are using concentrates more frequently. The higher usage could endanger their health.
The legislation hasn’t even been introduced yet. However, it’s important for Colorado residents to understand the amount of concentrates they’re legally allowed to possess at one time.
Here’s what you should know.
What Are Marijuana Concentrates?
Marijuana concentrates come in many different forms. They might be marijuana oil in a vape cartridge or medicated balms.
Basically, a marijuana concentrate involves the distilling of terpenes and cannabinoids in the plants and flowers to create a potent product.
The Sale of Marijuana Concentrates in Colorado
In Colorado, you cannot buy more than eight grams of marijuana concentrate at once.
This is due to the fact that concentrates have significantly higher levels of THC than other forms of marijuana. For example, the THC level in eight grams of concentrate is equal to one ounce in the flower.
Possession of Marijuana Concentrates in Colorado
Anyone over the age of 21 in Colorado can have up to 28 grams of flower but only eight grams of marijuana concentrates in their possession at once.
For more than that, criminal charges can be filed against you, even though marijuana and marijuana concentrates are legal in general.
Selling of Marijuana Concentrates
Colorado heavily regulates the sale of marijuana and marijuana products in the state. If you sell marijuana or marijuana concentrates as an unauthorized retailer, you are committing an illegal act.
If you sell two ounces or less of marijuana concentrates, you may be charged with a misdemeanor. Selling more than two ounces or to anyone under the age of 21 is a felony.
Penalties for Marijuana Concentrate Possession
If you are found in possession of more than the allowed amount of marijuana concentrates in Colorado, you can face criminal penalties.
The penalty depends on the amount you are found with:
Up To Three Ounces of Marijuana Concentrate
Prosecuted as a level 2 misdemeanor, this can result in as many as 12 months in jail and fines of as much as $1,000.
More Than Three Ounces of Marijuana Concentrate
A level 1 misdemeanor, this is punishable by as many as 18 months behind bars and fines for as much as $5,000.
Even though marijuana is legal in Colorado, that doesn’t mean you can do whatever you please or have as much as you want. You must abide by the laws in the state that regulate its use, or your risk criminal consequences.
It’s in your best interest to reacquaint yourself with the laws in the state to make sure nothing has changed.
About the Author:
Denver-based criminal defense and DUI attorney Jacob E. Martinez is a knowledgeable and experienced litigator with a record of success providing innovative solutions to clients facing criminal charges of any severity. Mr. Martinez has been recognized by countless legal organizations for his exemplary defense work, including Avvo, Best DWI Attorneys, Expertise, Lawyers of Distinction, The National Trial Lawyers, and others. He was also named one of the 10 Best in Client Satisfaction in Colorado by the American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys for 2020, and is Lead Counsel rated.