Traffic Attorneys in Denver, Colorado
At the Law Office of Jacob E. Martinez, we understand how important a person’s driver’s license is to their daily life. Whether getting to and from work, getting children to and from school, our daily lives in this state depend on the ability to drive. Colorado operates on a point system that imposes a limit on the number of points a person may obtain before their license is suspended. This limit is imposed on a one-year and two-year basis. Over the course of one calendar year, a person who is 21 years old, or older, may obtain 11 points without their license being suspended. If that person were to pick up a 12th point, their license would be suspended. However, even if the person does not pick up their 12th point in a single year, they are still not out of the woods. From the date of the person’s first ticket that leads to points on their license, those points will still count for two years. In any two-year period, that person can only have 17 points without an action being taken against their license. So, if a person were to acquire 11 points in one calendar year, that person could only pick up six additional points in the next calendar year without being in jeopardy of having their driving privileges suspended.
The number of points a person can accumulate before their license is suspended depends on that person’s age.
- For those individuals 21 and older, a point suspension will be contemplated if they acquire:
- 12 points in a 12-month period, or
- 18 points in any 24-month period.
- For those minors, 18 – 21, these individuals will go into suspension if they acquire
- 9 points in a 12-month period
- 12 points in a 24-month period, or
- 14 points or more between the ages of 18 and the date of your 21st birthday
- Finally, for minors under 18, they will go into suspicion if they acquire
- 6 points in any 12-month period, or
- 7 points before turning 18 years old
Although DMV points are not assessed until after the conviction is entered, the points accrue as of the date of the violation. That’s to say, if you are pulled over and cited on January 1, 2021 but you are not convicted until March 1, 2021, the points won’t be added on until March but they will be dated for that January 1st date.
We also recognize that even if a person does not lose their license due to traffic violations, there is the associated costs of insurance premiums increasing due to traffic tickets.
Below are links to some of the traffic offenses our clients commonly are charged with, please consult those links for specific information regarding each offense.
C.R.S. 18-3-105 – Criminally Negligent Homicide
C.R.S. 18-3-106 – Vehicular Homicide
C.R.S. 18-3-205 – Vehicular Assault
C.R.S. 18-4-409 – Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft
C.R.S. 18-9-107 – Obstructing highways or other passageways in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-2-137 – False Affidavit (Providing False Information to the DMV)
C.R.S. 42-2-138 – Driving Under Restraint (DUR)
C.R.S. 42-2-202 – Habitual Traffic Offender
C.R.S. 42-2-206 – Driving after Revocation Prohibited – Aggravated Driving with a Revoked License
C.R.S. 42-3-202 – Driving without License Plates in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-217 – Failure to Dim High Beams in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-239 – Misuse of a Wireless Telephone while Driving – Texting and Driving in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-701 – Vehicles Approaching or Entering Intersection – Failure to Yield to Right-Hand Driver at Intersection
C.R.S. 42-4-702 – Vehicle Turning Left
C.R.S. 42-4-705 – Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-709 – Stopping in a Crosswalk or Intersection in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-806 – Driving Through a Safety Zone in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-807 – Failure to Exercise Due Care to Pedestrians in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-908 – Illegal U-Turns in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-1001 – Driving on the Left Side of the Road in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-1002 – Passing Oncoming Vehicles
C.R.S. 42-4-1003 – Overtaking a Vehicle on the Left
C.R.S. 42-4-1006 – Driving a Vehicle the Wrong Way on a One-Way Road
C.R.S. 42-4-1010- Driving on the Wrong Side of the Road in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-1101 – Colorado Speeding Laws
C.R.S. 42-4-1105 – Speed Contest
C.R.S. 42-4-1301 – DUI, DUI per se, DWAI, DUI – Drugs
C.R.S 42-4-1401 – Reckless Driving
C.R.S. 42-4-1409 – Driving Without Insurance in Colorado
C.R.S. 42-4-1601 – Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries – Duties (Hit-and-Run Involving Death or Injury)
Whether your concerned about your first ticket or about going into point suspension, there is simply too much at stake when someone is charged with a traffic infraction.
It is important to hire a Denver attorney experienced in fighting these types of cases so that you have the best chance of having your ticket reduced or even dismissed. Give one of our experienced traffic attorneys a call today for a free consultation or contact us via our website.