Use of Multiple-Beam Lights – Traffic Infraction in Colorado
Use of Multiple-Beam Lights – Failure to Dim your Brights while Driving in Colorado
More often than not, when a person comes into contact with law enforcement, it is a result of a traffic infraction. Use of Multiple-Beam Lights, or colloquially known as Failure to Dim High-Beams, concerns driver safety, as high beams can cause temporary vision issues. Although not an extremely common offense, it can add points to your driving record. It is important to break the statute down in order to understand how to avoid violating this law.
The language of the statute first requires that a person have headlights on their car, “of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles at a safe distance in advance of the vehicle, subject to the following requirements:” This seems pretty obvious: a person must have headlights that allow them to see what is in front of them subject to the following limitations.
The next two subsections discuss what limitations are placed on the lights. The first describes the “use of a distribution of light or composite beam so aimed that the glaring rays are not projected into the eyes of the oncoming driver.” Similarly, subsection (b) requires that a person not use the headlights previously described when within 200 feet of another vehicle. In essence, a person is allowed to use their high-beams, unless another vehicle is passing opposite them, or they are within 200 feet of a vehicle in front of them. Failure to do so is a Class A traffic infraction.
While not the most serious offense, it is still important to consult with an experienced attorney. An experienced traffic and criminal defense attorney, like those at the Law Office of Jacob E. Martinez, may be able to successfully defend the case, which could result in fewer or no fines. Contact an experienced Denver Traffic Attorney today.
Domestic violence is a serious problem, no one disputes that. However, situations arise when people are wrongly accused of domestic violence or even have allegations used against them for someone else to gain an advantage over them.
False allegations of domestic violence are terrible, but they do happen. That’s why it’s vital to understand the domestic violence laws in Colorado and what you can do to avoid being falsely accused of domestic violence in the state.
Colorado has led the nation in the decriminalization and legalization of marijuana. Since 2012, marijuana has been legal in the state for those over 21 years of age to enjoy responsibly. Even though a decade has passed since legalization, it’s still not uncommon to run into Coloradans who aren’t sure what is and isn’t legal.
It’s vital to understand the rules and regulations regarding marijuana in the state to help keep yourself out of trouble with the law. Make no [...]
Domestic violence is an issue in Colorado, as it is in many other places. However, Colorado treats domestic violence crimes differently than you may find in other places. Since the state considers it not an independent crime, it is considered an aggravator of another crime.
It’s unfortunate that you cannot discuss domestic violence in the state without discussing child abuse. The two are linked since domestic violence is an issue that impacts the whole family unit. If there is violence [...]