Free Case Eval

Cruelty to Animals – C.R.S. 18-9-202

Animal Cruelty Charges in Denver and the Surrounding Areas

There are a multitude of reasons an individual in Colorado might be charged with Cruelty to Animals under Colorado law.

A charge for Cruelty to Animals can arise based on an allegation that someone harmed, mutilated or killed an animal but it can also arise when someone is alleged to have abandoned a pet, transported an animal in a reckless manner or even when it is alleged that someone has overworked their animals.

Animal Cruelty charges are serious offenses. A first time conviction for Animal Cruelty is a class 1 misdemeanor and as such is punishable by up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.00. In these matters, the Court may also require additional sanctions, punishment or treatment. Frequently, law enforcement will impound the animals they believe are being harmed or abused. If impounded, the animal may be assessed by a licensed veterinarian. If it is determined that the animal is in “extreme pain or suffering, or is severely injured past recovered, severely disable past recover, or severely diseased past recovery” then then animal may be euthanized without a court order.

Additionally, anger management or other treatment may be ordered by the Court and there is a mandatory minimum fine of $500 if a conviction is entered.

It is imperative that the attorney you hire understands that way in which these cases are resolved and the steps that can be taken to advocate for you and your animals. Contact our office today for a free legal consultation and to discuss your case with our experienced Denver criminal defense attorneys.

Free Case Evaluation

Tell us about your case in the form below

<